Interact with the ICMAC on Facebook

Visit the Official ICMAC YouTube Channel

Don't Miss the Next Event, Sign Up Here for ICMAC Email Alerts

World Sanda League

Styles Overview

Kung Fu competition and styles overview

One of our goals is to provide a Kung Fu tournament circuit that offers a competition platform for all major Kung Fu styles. To fulfill this task, our Chinese Kung Fu tournaments offer a great number of divisions for various age groups and skill levels.

Although the number of divisions will differ between 5 Star Rated, 4 Star Rated, and 3 Star Rated Kung Fu tournaments, competitors from the disciplines listed on this page will find an event that is appropriate for them.

Among the major categories featured are: Traditional Northern Kung Fu styles, Traditional Southern Kung Fu styles, Contemporary Wushu, and Internal Chinese Martial Arts styles. Each of these categories includes numerous events so that the maximum number of Kung Fu/Wushu styles can be featured.

The division sheets for each Kung Fu championship will offer a detailed breakdown of the categories. We are providing here a general overview of the different styles and divisions available for competition.

Traditional Northern Kung Fu Styles

Long Fist Category includes:
Cha Quan, Hua Quan, Hong Quan, Pao Quan, Tan Tui and other systems that contain long-range movements, jumping and kicking techniques from the Northern Shaolin school.

Other Northern Kung Fu Styles include:
Tong Bei, Fan Zi, Pi Gua, Chuo Jiao and similar systems that are from the Northern school but which have certain characteristics that distinguish them from the Long Fist styles.

Northern Open Kung Fu styles:
Systems that incorporate acrobatic, tumbling and falling techniques—such as Monkey Kung Fu, Drunken Kung Fu, and Di Tang—are included in this category.

Depending on the championship, special divisions may be available for Praying Mantis Kung Fu, Eagle Claw Kung Fu, and Baji.

Traditional Southern Kung Fu Styles

Southern Long Hand styles:
Hung Gar Kung Fu (Hong Jia), Lau Gar Kung Fu (Liu Jia), Choi Li Fut Kung Fu (Cai Li Fo), Jow Gar Kung Fu, and other similar systems that employ strong low stances, long-range strikes and strong bridging techniques fall into this category.*

* Wherever possible, the Pinyin spelling for each style is provided.

Southern Short Hand styles:
Systems that employ a close-in stance and close-in fighting techniques such as White Eyebrow, Dragon Style, Five Family Style, Wing Chun, Southern Praying Mantis Kung Fu and other similar styles are included in this category.

Internal Competition Styles

Styles such as Taiji (Tai Chi), Xing Yi, Bagua, and Liuhe Bafa belong in the Internal styles category.

Taiji has evolved into several different schools and includes the following major styles: Chen Taiji, Yang Taiji, Wu Taiji, Hao Taiji and Sun Taiji.

Contemporary or Modern Wushu

Contemporary Long Fist Wushu, commonly known as Chang Quan, is mostly based on the traditional Cha Quan and Hua Quan styles along with elements from other Traditional Long Fist Kung Fu systems.

Nan Quan refers to Southern style contemporary Wushu routines that are also based on the Traditional Southern systems, such as the Hong, Liu Quan, Li Quan, Mo and other styles.

Animal imitation routines, Drunken and Di Tang (falling and tumbling styles) are also found in the Contemporary Wushu repertoire.

Weapon Routines

The numerous weapons divisions in both traditional Kung Fu and contemporary Wushu include long, short, flexible, and open weapons categories.

Long weapons: Staff and spear

Short weapons: Sword and saber

Flexible weapons: Three-sectional staff, rope dart, and chain whip

Open weapons: Any weapon not classified in the above categories such as: Fan, Pu Dao, Guan Dao, Double Headed Spear, Two Section Staff (not Nunchaku), Tiger Fork, Monk's Spade etc....

Reaction Skills Competitions

Reaction skills events involve two competitors who engage in a match. Each of the different reaction skills is governed by certain rules, as follows:

Tui Shou or Push Hands:
Tui Shou is a distinctive reaction skill common to Tai Chi tournaments. It is offered in all of the Chinese Martial Arts Championship Worldwide Circuit competitions. We feature Fixed Step Push Hands, Restricted Step Push Hands and Moving Step Push Hands.

Light Contact Continuous Sparring:
Continuous light contact Sanda permits flowing action; the match is not stopped every time someone scores a point. This allows for a flurry of techniques to be exchanged between opponents.

Chi Sao:
Chi Sao incorporates sticking, redirecting and striking techniques. This is one of the key training aspects of Wing Chun Kung Fu. But competitors from other disciplines may enter this category to develop and sharpen their sensativity and sticking skills.

Shuai Jiao:
Commonly known as Chinese wrestling, this is a dynamic art that uses many throwing techniques.

Sanda is unique to Chinese martial arts. It is an exciting full contact sport that features kicking, striking, and throwing techniques. All Sanda (Full Contact Fights) hosted by ICMAC will be sanctioned with ISKA.

Sword Sparring:
This sparring event allows competitors to display the skills of Chinese swordsmanship.

Journal of Chinese Martial Arts

Lily Lau Eagle Claw Kung Fu Federation International

Helen Gee Chin Scholarship Foundation


American Shaolin Kung Fu

Shaolin Kung Fu Academy

International Shaolin Wushu Center

Chen Style Tai Chi

Look Hear Now